Faces of Nanjing No. 5 High School (2)

If you didn’t get the chance to see my last post about some of the wonderful students that I have the privilege of teaching, you can check out my motivations for doing a HONY type human-interest piece here. I get a kick out of doing these interviews, which allow my students to showcase their personality outside of the classroom. This post includes four of my 7th graders that hail from Class 11.  Cheers!

In the rare times that I take pictures of my students, it sometimes scares me that smiling for photos isn't an automatic reaction here.
In the rare times that I take pictures of my students, it sometimes scares me that smiling for photos isn’t an automatic reaction here.

Name: Yang Sen, G7C11 (I didn’t do this in my last post, but from now on I am going to put the surname first since that is typical in Chinese culture.)

Yang Sen is a pretty calculated student.  He chooses his moments to speak and in general, he is naturally curious.  He usually eats lunch with Flint Lockwood and I, but somedays he will not even say a word; he will just listen.  He is constantly puzzled why I always get beef and rice and even though he already knows the answer, he likes to ask me why I don’t get noodles and pork (not very filling).  He is a Minecraft junkie who loves to do everything during class except speak English.

What has been the happiest moment of your life?
“When I go to my grandparent’s home.  I can watch TV, they take me shopping for nice things, and cook with them.  That is where I am always most happy.”

If you could give advice to someone who is having a problem, what would you tell them?
“Don’t worry. I will help you.”

What is your biggest dream?
“I want to do something amazing.”  Like what? “Fly in the sky with no help.”


One of the more popular and eccentric students in my class.
One of the more popular and eccentric students in my class.

Name: Wu Longing, G7C11

Harboring a hatred for boredom, Wu Longing puts 100% effort into any activity or lesson during class.  She motivates students with the energy she brings to classroom, but on the 1% chance she is not rarin’ to go for Foreigner English class, it can be a struggle.  During her group story activities, she will somehow steer her team into writing a romance story that ends up with the lovers dying in the end.  Every. Single. Story.  The first story I can remember had the couple dying of heartbreak and the latest one has them falling off of a cliff.  I don’t know.

What is your biggest dream?
“My biggest dream is to be an artist.”  What kind of artist?  “I will use Chinese gardens, flowers, and trees.”

What is your favorite class?
“Chinese.  It’s easier than English.”

If you could give advice to someone who is having a problem, what would you tell them?
“I will show you some interesting and happy things.  I want to tell you happy stories to make you feel better so you will smile.”


He tried his best to pose as Ezio Auditore from Assassin's Creed.
He tried his best to pose as Ezio Auditore from Assassin’s Creed, the video game.

Name: Wang Si Miao, G7C11

The self-labeled “nerder” of Grade 7 Class 11, Wang Si Miao is the most video game and comic obsessed student I teach.  He runs around with his hood up, arms flying behind him, and a pencil hidden in both of his sleeves so that he can practice being an assassin. His knowledge of Marvel based superheroes is unparalleled and his passion shows; he became extremely flustered with a classmate who would not copy the Avenger’s story during a group “make up a story in English” activity.  He is the third member of Jack’s Lunchtime English Speaking Crew and never stops talking about Assassin’s Creed…never.

What has been the happiest moment of your life?
“When I came to this school as a top student. Also I was able to finally play and beat Assassin’s Creed Victory. So happy.”

If you could give advice to someone who is having a problem, what would you tell them?
“I will say ‘don’t worry’ and then I go help them.  No matter what.”

What is your biggest dream?
“Which dream do you want.”  What dreams do you want to tell me about? “I want to be an assassin with Spiderman’s powers.  I will make the world better. Technology and practice will make it possible.”


“Do I look more business with my jacket like this?”

Name: Ma Wenjie, G7C11

The head honcho and class decision maker, Ma Wenjie is quite vocal.  If she doesn’t like something, if she is bored, or if she is done with an activity and wants feedback, she will make sure you know.  She is the most popular girl in Grade 7 with many friends in the two classes at the high school and with the junior school 7th graders.  She went to primary school with most of her classmates and her decisions are final among her friends.  I swear she is the class mother as some students will check their homework with her or ask her to speak for them if Warren is not around.

What is your biggest dream?
“I want to be a teacher.  A Chinese teacher.  Maybe travel, but I don’t know.”

If you could give advice to someone who is having a problem, what would you tell them?
“I can cry with you.  No problem.”

What is your favorite thing in the world?
“Hong Kong films.”

Why are their two 7th grade classes at this high school?
“We are the best in all things at school. Much better students than junior school.” (I 100% agree with this statement).

Leave a Reply

